MS Weekly Staff Memo – January 20, 2014

Great Things I Noticed This Week

Watching from a distance as a teacher showed middle school students how their brains work

Witnessing a teacher with a self-proclaimed “gift of gab” work his magic as he communicated beautifully with a non-profit organization on ways we can collaborate with the community at large in order to promote the learning and character development of our students

Reading an incredible email dialogue between a teacher and a student on a piece of literature they are reading together – truly stunning!

Watching as a teacher became a learner and summoned the courage it takes to take risks and dive head first into this “messiness” we call learning

Seeing a teacher set a personal goal and achieve it outside of the classroom.  What an inspiration and what a great way to model character traits such as dedication, self-worth, confidence, and perseverance for our kids.  Awesome, awesome, awesome!

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, January 21st:
9:30-11:30 – Juli will be in meeting with DPI representative on CSD K-8 Campus

Wednesday, January 22nd:
8:00-10:00 – Admin Team Meeting
11:00 – 1:00 Teacher “Soup-er” Luncheon provided by parents
11:45-12:15 – Electives Team Meeting (Please go enjoy your “souped” luncheon first!)
3:30 – 4:30 NWHTYS Book Study Meeting (through Chpt 6)

Thursday, January 23rd:
Joy registering 8th graders for HS at MS in Juli’s office all day

Friday, January 24th:
Joy registering 8th graders for HS at MS in Juli’s office all day

Looking Ahead….
Joy registering 8th graders for HS at MS in Juli’s office on (1/29, 1/30, 1/31, 2/4)
January 27th – 5th Grade Arts Visit (9-11)
January 28th – Last Lottery Open House (9:30-11:30)
January 28th – MS Winter Sport Pep Rally – (2:00-3:00) *No Advisory – Alternate Schedule this day
January 29th – MS Cyber Safety Parent Workshop – 6:30-8:00 in MS Black Box
January 30th – 6th Grade Band Performance for parents – 9:30
January 31st – 8th Grade Practicum Souper Bowl Fundraiser
February 6th – 1/2 Day; 1/2 Teacher Workday
February 7th – 6th Grade SLC’s; Teacher Workdays
February 17 – No School – President’s Day Holiday
February 20-23 – Les Miserables Performance at HS
February 24 – CSD Lottery
February 26 – Admin Team Planning Day
Feb 28-March 2 – MS Musical – Dear Edwina

Nuts/Bolts/Reminders/Tips

Please remember to not send students to my office for behavioral reasons without first notifying me.  Oftentimes, I am either tied up with another situation or I am not in my office.  In this case, the students are then never addressed as I was not aware they were sent to see me.  If you need my assistance, please know I am more than happy to help as soon as I possibly can.  Either walkie me or text me and I will be back in touch the moment I am available.  To review more tips about sending kids to Juli or Dana, please click here.  Thanks so much for your help with this!

Thought-Provoking:

I happen to run across this segment over the weekend, and it got me to thinking about some of my past interactions with students as a classroom teacher.  It’s very easy to make assumptions that are just flat out inaccurate.  Watching this reminded me of a time I called a kid out for “doodling” in my class.  Not knowing any better, I assumed that he/she was “checked out” and not paying attention to my earth-shattering instruction (insert sarcastic smirk).  🙂  I think this clip offers valuable insight that is worthy of revisiting.  

The Higher Purpose of Doodling

Inspirational:

On this very special day, I hope you’ll take some time to think about Dr. King’s life and the legacy he leaves behind.  As teachers, we can only hope that his lessons permeate our classrooms.  Here is a collection of some of his most famous words.  Take a moment to read, reflect, and ponder what his messages mean for us as educators. http://www.theepochtimes.com/n3/454112-martin-luther-king-jr-quotes-33-quotes-on-education-courage-love-racism-violence-and-service/IMG_3549

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

